2012 SMUS Invitational Girls Schedule and Results

Pool A Pool B
Bishop O’Byrne
Lambrick Park
Oak Bay
Rundle College

Teams will play round robin in a pool of four. Once pool order of finish has been determined, teams will play one additional game against the similarly placed team in the other pool. In this way, places 1st to 8th will be determined.

If two teams are tied after pool play, placing will be determined as follows:

  • Result between the teams in question

If three teams are tied after pool play, placings will be determined as follows

a) Point differential from all pool games
b) Most points scored in all pool games
c) Fewest points allowed in all pool games
d) Coin toss if required

First named team in the draw will wear white/light uniforms.

Thursday, January 5, 2012

# Time Gym Team 1 Score Team 2 Score
Noon Double SMUS  40 Strathcona  55
Review: Nadia Musa’s 15 points led a balanced Strathcona attack, as the Edmonton based Lords used a 23-12 opening advantage to subdue host SMUS. For the Blue Jags, post Allie White notched 10, while point guard Abbie Piazza scored all 9 of her points after the half time break.
Noon Single Claremont 39 Bishop O’Byrne  45
Review: Bishop O’Byrne overcame an ice cold first quarter, in which the Calgary squad managed only a single free throw, to scramble home in a fast, physical affair vs Claremont. For the Bobcats, who went 8-28 from the charity stripe, Bobolo Olayinka led the way with 13 points. Caitlyn Anderson (10) led the Spartans in scoring.
3:30 pm Double Oak Bay  72  Bowness  33
Review: Even without star post player Lauren Yearwood, Oak Bay, thanks to a 15 point unanswered run either side of the first quarter break, eased home vs Bowness. Emma Koloska, with 17, led the Breakers, while, for the Trojans, senior guard Nikki Tagg had a team high 8 in a losing cause.
3:30 pm Single Lambrick Park  79 Rundle College  46
Review: 6’2″ post Tyger Holt, with 32 points, proved to much for Rundle College, as Lambrick Park shook off a slowish start to gain a convincing win. For the Cobras, senior guards Amara Kraft (11) and Kayla Barry (10) managed double figures.

Friday, January 6, 2012

# Time Gym Team 1 Score Team 2 Score
8:30 am Double Bishop O’Byrne  71 SMUS  29
Review: Bishop O’Byrne moved to 2-0 in pool play, blowing open a competitive game with a dominant second half performance en route to a comprehensive win over SMUS. Up 34-23 at the break, the Bobcats opened the third quarter on a 16-0 run to make the game safe. Erin Lee (14) led a balanced attack. For the Blue Jags, Rachel Sibbald reached double figures with 10 points.
8:30 am Single Strathcona  44 Claremont  57
Review: Claremont used a decisive 21-8 first quarter run to kick start a decisive victory over Strathcona. Ali Zwicker paced the Spartans attack with 14 points, while for the Lords, Reagan Klevyer had a team high 9.
10:15 am Double  Bowness  51 Lambrick Park  78
Review: Lambrick Park set up a collision course with Oak Bay for Pool B supremacy by dispatching Bowness. Chelsea Strandlund nailed five treys as part of her game high 19, with Rachelle Tang (12) high scorer for the Trojans.
10:15 am Single Rundle College  24 Oak Bay 58
Review: Oak Bay moved to 2-0 with a straightforward victory over Rundle. Ella Macquisten’s 9 points paced a very balanced attack. For the Cobras, Amara Kraft led the way with 12.
1:45 pm Single SMUS 28 Claremont  65
Review: Claremont concluded Pool A play with a strong effort vs SMUS. A 37-9 margin over the middle two quarters ensured what in the end was a comfortable victory. The Spartans’ Haley Cabral hooped 14 while, for the winless Jags, Abbey Piazza scored 8.
3:30 pm Single Strathcona 58 Bishop O’Byrne 64
Review: Pool A champion Bishop O’Byrne moved into the championship final by completing pool play unbeaten. The Bobcats 64-58 win over Strathcona featured four players in double figures, led by Erin Lee with 12. For the Lords, Jess Stroud played superbly in scoring 25.
5:15 pm Single Oak Bay  57 Lambrick Park  47
Review: Oak Bay likewise moved through to the tournament gold medal match, by virtue of a ten point win over local rival Lambrick Park. A 20-4 second quarter explosion broke open a tight game, with Laura Dickson’s 16 leading the way for the Breakers. Tyger Holt continued her fine play with a game high 20 in a losing cause.
7:00 pm Single  Bowness  51 Rundle College  46
Review: Courtney Kwasney’s 13 points helped allow Bowness to escape the Pool B basement, as the Trojans defeated Rundle College in an all Alberta battle. Amara Kraft, with 23, paced the Cobras.

Saturday, January 7, 2012

# Time Gym Team 1 Score Team 2 Score
5th/ 6th
12:30 pm Double 3rd Pool A – Strathcona  60 3rd Pool B – Bowness  44
Review: Jess Stroud (23) led all scorers as Strathcona moved past Bowness. For the vanquished Trojans, Courtney Kwasney chipped in with 10.
7th/ 8th
12:30 pm Single 4th Pool A – SMUS  71 4th Pool B – Rundle College  44
Review: SMUS, breaking out of serious scoring slump, secured its first Invitational win by a comfortable margin vs Rundle College. Abbey Piazza (17) led the Blue Jags scoring, while, for the Cobras, Kayla Barry netted 16.
3rd/ 4th
8:00 pm Single 2nd Pool A – Claremont  62 2nd Pool B – Lambrick Park  55
Review: Claremont captured bronze after a hard fought tilt vs local rivals Lambrick Park. Melissa van Dyck led the Spartans with 27, while, for the Lions, Emma van Kosten potted a team high 14.
1st/ 2nd
8:00 pm Double 1st Pool A – Bishop O’Byrne  53 1st Pool B – Oak Bay  56
Review: Oak Bay recovered from a sluggish start to scramble home vs Bishop O’Byrne. Down by as many as 14 in the first half, the Breakers cranked up the defensive effort, holding the visiting Bobcats to just four points in the third quarter. Danica Robirtis scored 11, while, for the gallant losers, Shennelle Tamminen had a game high 17.


Oak Bay

Bishop O’Byrne


Lambrick Park




Rundle College



Team Award Winners

Kraft (Rundle College)

Piazza (SMUS)

Stroud (Strathcona)

Kwasney (Bowness)

Lee (Claremont)

Lefebvre (Lambrick Park)

Young (Oak Bay)

Figueroa (Bishop O’Byrne)



Tournament All-Stars

Holt (Lambrick Park)

Cabral (Claremont)

James (Bishop O’Byrne)

Olayinka (Bishop O’Byrne)

Cooper (Oak Bay)



Most Outstanding Player

Dickson (Oak Bay)


Most Sportsmanlike